The Pitmen Poets


The Pitmen Poets are:

Billy Mitchell – Bob Fox – Benny Graham – Jez Lowe

Released: 14 December 2015



  1. These Coal Town Days    2:56    J. Lowe (Lowe Life Music)
  2. The Devil’s Ground    4:11    Billy Mitchell
  3. Stanley Market    3:57    Tommy Armstrong
  4. The Row Between The Cages    3:07    Tommy Armstrong
  5. Shiftin’ To The Toon    4:27    Billy Mitchell
  6. The Pitman’s Dream    5:43    Alexander Barrass
  7. South Medomsley Strike    7:36    Tommy Armstrong / Johnny Handle
  8. Just One Spark    1:42    Benny Graham
  9. The Ex Pitmen’s Potholing Pub Quiz Team    5:40    J. Lowe (Lowe Life Music)
  10. Blackleg Mining Man    3:37    Jock Purdon
  11. The Collier Laddie’s Wife    3:17    Billy Mitchell / Jane Wade
  12. The Sheel Raw Flood / Off To California    4:55    Tommy Armstrong / Trad Arr. The Pitmen Poets
  13. Wor Nanny’s A Maizor    4:16    Tommy Armstrong
  14. Judas Bus    4:18    J. Lowe (Lowe Life Music)
  15. Farewell Johnny Miner    5:51    Ed Pickford
  16. The Miner’s Lifeguard    5:30    Trad Arr. The Pitmen Poets
  17. (Bonus track)  The Pitmen Poets    4:10    J. Lowe (Lowe Life Music)


The Pitmen Poets features four of the region’s leading champions of its musical heritage: Ex-Lindisfarne singer and songwriter Billy Mitchell, renowned singer and instrumentalist Bob Fox, leading exponent of Tyneside song Benny Graham, and much-covered Durham songwriter Jez Lowe – individually and collectively celebrating triumphs, tragedy, humour and hard times of North-East England’s coal mining tradition

16 Great tracks recorded live by these four champions of North East culture, plus a bonus recording of Jez’s song “THE PITMEN POETS” written for the boys and nominated as “Best Original Song” in the BBC Folk Awards.



Jez Lowe Concerts- Pay What You Feel Link

Jez Lowe – This Is Not My tribe
Upcoming shows

No shows booked at the moment.

Monthly Archives