The Pitmen Poets

Released: 14 December 2015
Label: Pitmen Poets PPCD1

The Pitmen Poets features four of the region’s leading champions of its musical heritage: Ex-Lindisfarne singer and songwriter Billy Mitchell, renowned singer and instrumentalist Bob Fox, leading exponent of Tyneside song Benny Graham, and much-covered Durham songwriter Jez Lowe - individually and collectively celebrating triumphs, tragedy, humour and hard times of North-East England's coal mining tradition

16 Great tracks recorded live by these four champions of North East culture, plus a bonus recording of Jez's song "THE PITMEN POETS" written for the boys and nominated as "Best Original Song" in the BBC Folk Awards.

Track listing

01 These Coal Town Days
02 The Devil's Ground
03 Stanley Market
04 The Row Between The Cages
05 Shiftin' To The Toon
06 The Pitman's Dream
07 South Medomsley Strike
08 Just One Spark
09 The Ex Pitmen's Potholing Pub Quiz Team
10 Blackleg Mining Man
11 The Collier Laddie's Wife
12 The Sheel Raw Flood / Off To California
13 Wor Nanny's A Maizor
14 Judas Bus
15 Farewell Johnny Miner
16 The Miner's Lifeguard
Bonus Track:
17 The Pitmen Poets


Price: £12.00

Loading Updating basket...
Jez Lowe Concerts- Pay What You Feel Link

Jez Lowe – This Is Not My tribe
Shopping Cart

Your shopping basket is empty
Visit the shop

Upcoming shows

No shows booked at the moment.

Monthly Archives